I know it’s fall…

I know it’s fall because the brake lights shone bright on my way home from work this evening. I have memories, as a kid, of darkness falling on the road and ribbons of red and white lights winding down the freeway or boulevard.

I know it’s fall because the air has cooled by morning, and a cup of tea gets paired with some long socks to ward off the slight chill on my shorts clad legs.

I know it’s fall because I’m sleepy in the afternoons and want to curl up for a nap rather than finish the work day.

I know it’s fall because it was dark when we all sat down to dinner this evening, and the room had a cozy, artificially lit atmosphere.

Because I know it’s fall, Ella Fitzgerald and Bing Crosby take up the airways in the office, and Dean Martin and Billie Holiday.

Because I know it’s fall, I want to take the afternoon off and make pumpkin muffins or get some hot cider going on the stove.

Because it’s fall, I make a second cup of tea -or maybe three: one in the morning, one at my desk, and one in the evening.

Because it’s fall I’m reminiscent and happy and always have a love song in my head.

Do you have fall traditions?

Author: JoannaKaye

Southern California born and raised. Transplanted to north Idaho by way of Arizona. 9th born out of 14 kids. Married to one handsome pilot. Theodore's mother. Christian bred. Wooed by Jesus. Shamelessly proud of my auntie status. Clay on the Potter's wheel, learning not to fight the Master's hand..

One thought on “I know it’s fall…”

Tell me what you think...